Application Integration

Revision as of 12:52, 25 June 2014 by Dweuthen (talk | contribs)


Jump to: navigation, search

In addition to adding users manually as described in chapter User Management, MailStore Server can synchronize its internal user database with the Application Integration Server of your company.

During synchronization user information such as user names and email addresses are read from the Application Integration Server and recorded in MailStore Server's user database. No changes are made to the Application Integration Server itself by MailStore Server. The scope of the synchronization can be limited through filters.

Accessing the Directory Service Configuration

  • Log on to MailStore Client as a MailStore Server administrator.
  • Click on Administrative Tools > Users and Privileges and then on Directory Services.
  • In the Integration section, change the directory service type to Application Integration.
ApplicationIntegration sync 01.png


Connection to Application Integration Server

For synchronization MailStore Server requires information on how to connect to the the Application Integration server.

  • URL
    The URL where the Application Integration server is serving requests. When using a self signed or non-public SSL certificate on the Application Integration server, enable the Ignore SSL warnings option. If accessing the Application Integration server requires authentication , enable the Server requires authentication and enter the credential in the following fields:
  • User Name
    Name of user who has access to the Application Integration server
  • Password
    Password of the user who has access to Application Integration server

Options

  • Automatically delete users in MailStore Server
    Here you can choose whether users that have been deleted in the Application Integration Server will also be deleted in the MailStore user database by the synchronization. If the archive folder of such a user already contains archived emails, only the user entry but not its archive folder will be deleted in MailStore. Additionally, only MailStore users that have their authentication method set to Directory Services will be deleted.

Assigning Default Privileges

By default, users that have been synchronized to MailStore Server from Application Integration Server have the privilege to log on to MailStore Server as well as read access to their own user archive.
You can configure those default privileges before synchronization, for example, to assign the privilege Archive E-mail to all new users. To do this, click on Default Privileges...
More information on managing user privileges and their effects is available in the chapter Users, Folders and Settings which also has details on editing existing privileges.

Running Directory Services Synchronization

Click on Test Settings to check synchronization configuration and the results returned by the Application Integration Server without any changes to the MailStore Server user database being actually committed.

To finally run the synchronization, click on Synchronize now. The results are shown with any changes committed to the MailStore Server user database.

Login with Application Integration Server Credentials

After synchronization MailStore users can log on to MailStore Server via Standard Authentication with their Application Integration Server username and Application Integration Server password.

Navigation
Tools
Print/export
About MailStore

  • MailStore Server is one of the leading email archiving solutions for SMB.
  • For private use there is a free tool for email archiving furthermore: MailStore Home.